9 Comments
Feb 17, 2022Liked by Steve Stroh N8GNJ

Nice find. Simple HF rig is good if you ask me especially for digital modes. The software is likely to do most of the work so bells and whistles on the rig would go to waste. Can’t beat that price. The power supply alone is half that price.

Brian N2KGC

Expand full comment
Feb 17, 2022Liked by Steve Stroh N8GNJ

130 was my first transceiver. Fond memories.

Expand full comment

Congratulations Steve, while the bandwidth is narrow on HF, there are still a lot of fun things to do with it. I hope you have a lot of fun setting up a computer interface for it and trying out the various digital modes! Personally my favorites are RTTY (I know old school), and JS8Call.

Expand full comment
founding

Nice story. Prompts me to add Craigslist to my hardware scan when I get home. I'm not a Kenwood user and have only gone back to HF for the past 15 months after my novice career of 56 years ago.

Expand full comment
founding

Zero Retries is a wonderful publication. It both shows me new things to explore and reminds me that what I'm doing isn't unique. I appreciate the attitude I perceive in your writing. I knew more electronic theory as a teenager 50+ years ago than I do now and though I passed my Extra less than a year ago, your articles and news provoke me to go study. I've shared what you're doing with several others with a similar interest. 73 de K3FZT / Steve

Expand full comment

I have enjoyed your Zero Retries newsletter, and often don't have any comments as I can't really add anything to what you have written, or have questions. I am very interested in ham radio data like you describe, and I recently got a Raspberry Pi working with BAP software which includes PAT (Winlink on Linux) and YAAC APRS app. Actually, I had them working before I moved and the Pi OS upgraded to Bullseye so this was working again through it. I also have a Winlink Gateway working using BPQ as I am working to get better prepared for EmComm. I am also mostly on VHF and just a little on HF, most recently during Winter Field Day, but I know I need to be on HF to be prepared if the local repeaters go off the air.

Expand full comment

Congrats on the TS-130. It's a classic. Very similar to the IC-725.

Expand full comment

One more place to check for manuals: archive.org. https://archive.org/details/manualsbase-id-207093/

I have not put as much time into radio as music lately, but I still very much enjoy reading about it in ZeroRetries.

Expand full comment

I don't own a Kenwood radio any more (long story...) but they have great audio quality for the price, and would work great for digital!

Expand full comment